Haven

Standard

My wide open space

I miss

The farm

 

I spent my first 6 weeks of life there

On my dad’s parents 150 acres

 

As I grew

My grandparents invited me to stay often

Complete with a silver tray to hold my

Home cooked farm breakfasts

 

In high school

In my “sucking marrow out of life” time

I transcendentalized in the crops out on the

“North 40”

 

then eventually

it sold

 

is it almost like a tear in my heart

 

that that haven

no longer exists for me?

 

No

I’ll think

Of jumping onto the hay bales

In one of the barns

 

Of mowing the 2 acres around the

Farm house

 

Of my grandparents

 

All memories

Still alive

And accessible

Leave a Reply

