“Be Ignited, or Be Gone”

Standard

To mark the beginning of July

To appreciate a poet who captures my feelings:

 

…” Still, what I want in my life 

is to be willing 

to be dazzled–

to cast aside the weight of facts

 

and maybe even 

to float a little

above this difficult world.

I want to believe I am looking

 

into the white fire of a great mystery.

I want to believe that the imperfections are

nothing–

that the light is everything– that it is more

than the sum

of each flawed blossom rising and fading.

And I do.

(M. Oliver, “The Ponds”)

I believe Mary Oliver describes my newfound fire within.  I am ready to face the world with more strength and less excuses.  I am attempting to lose at least a couple clothing sizes for my, and my fiance’s, wedding next summer.  And I intend to continue to endeavor in that venue.

 

A new me physically.  I’ve already lost about 10 pounds.  And hopefully, when the school year starts I will be ready to take it on mentally, holding with both hands: with the fire within me.

 

To finish with another quote from Oliver:

 

“Be ignited, or be gone.”

(M. Oliver, “What I Have Learned So Far”)

Leave a Reply

