Line by Line

Standard

I am reeling

I am gloating

I am happy

 

 

My professor

I could trust enough

To read my work

 

My poetry which I thought may

Be boring, unacceptable, too Plath-like in its diary like entries

 

 

But he liked it

 

 

I am challenged

I am enthused

I am happy

 

 

I have a future in which I can

Still write poetry the way I like to

 

Just…. Focus on the line

 

 

 

As Richard Wright, the poet, wrote when he had throat cancer

And was in the hospital:

 

I’m dying

For a scoop of ice cream

 

I’m jumping

Out of my head

And into the next Line!Image

Leave a Reply

