Soldier On

Standard

The school year is now underway. Nature in all its savagery has affected quite a bit of our beginning of the year. We have had early outs, due to extreme heat; and today, we didn’t even have school because students and teachers both were getting sick, and it was indeed another blisteringly hot day.

 

Nature has not been the only haphazard force. I have found myself spending upwards of $500 on school this year. I worry that I won’t stop. I keep seeing books in Spanish that would be perfect for our bilingual school. As a librarian, books are candy. And to me, money is fluid like water.

 

We have a new principal this year, and with that, I get to remake myself into a better coworker. Whatever may have been the case in the past, is no longer. I have a blank slate upon which I can create a solid worker for the school. Someone who champions the students, while assisting the staff.

 

Sound like a bit much? Yes, I am expending much energy. But I am discovering, with the use of force, and energy, my “mental muscles” strengthen. And I am continually more able to do more.

 

I hope that I can continue this use of surging energy I possess. I know the year will have challenges that are beyond me. Those challenges can be met with the strength of my supporters— my fiancé, our Labradoodle, and my family.  With Nature’s probable cessation of intense heat, by contrast, my endeavors to succeed will soldier on. 

Leave a Reply

