Nonsense and the Ibis

Standard

I don’t know if I want to 

exercise seriously 

 

Devote days and times to the pursuit. 

 

It grows foreign to me

the longer I avoid the gym

 

And the ibis bends to its 

pond

And the pond ripples

And all is well in the world

 

Placate? Switch to imagery?

A trick?

 

None of the above. 

 

A truth– I don’t prevaricate

when I look away

 

from that which I was trying to say

 

–I don’t lie about what is, 

I just don’t know about what is not

 

An ibis, somewhere, is. Image

Leave a Reply

