Poetry 101: for the littler ones

Standard

I enjoyed teaching poetry today.

Felt kind of loose, less structured; almost haphazard. But I followed the same lesson plan for all four of my RtI groups, which makes me feel as if I knew what my intent was, in starting the poetry unit with metaphor creation.

Third and second graders grappling with creating metaphors. Their handle on EXACTLY what a noun is: hazy. But, oh do they understand how to ferret out a memorable image using hard-won nouns.

I’m proud of them for staying with a rather abstract lesson, and hope that I can teach them as well as I did today, for the rest of this poetry unit. Since poetry is my personal love, I at least hope that they gain a better appreciation of poetry; understanding some of its techniques more than before.

Leave a Reply

