Searching for Moderation

Standard

Dedicated to John Holden Lillis, who requested something more “positive”

Driving fast
Endangering fellow high schoolers’
Lives

The wild unawareness
Of youth

What I would give
for that body I had

somehow surprisingly surviving
the recklessness

why did I think my
beliefs would stay with me?

The cosmos shivered from
My attempts at being a good
Person (in my mind)

Everything was larger than life

My commitment to my BFFs
My clamor for sculpting the perfect body
My attempt to be the top student

All that yearning.

Now
I get my walk in,
Attempt to eat judiciously
And give my husband and family
All my love.

Am I so different now?

My search for perfection
Has been fine-tuned
To graceful moderate days.

Leave a Reply

