Expression and Creation

Standard

Expression
Pushing inside me

I’ve never been pregnant
Never will.

But the words!
Just 26?
How can I curb
My screaming desire
To emit
In the written word?

These thoughts
These poems

I push them out,
In a way,
But they are no
Babies!

They are creations
Of my mind, and I’ll never let them go.

Before I could form coherent sentences,
My first “baby”
Was a German Dictionary.

I would make scribbles in it,
And feel ever so astute
To have such a gift

Now, some 30 years later,
I still assume
A secret society
Of words.

I try to honor them
But never control them!

2 thoughts on “Expression and Creation

Leave a Reply

