consciousness and perceived reality

Standard

“Life would be unbearable if we made ourselves conscious of it.”

-Fernando Pessoa

I don’t think the question is how conscious you are of your reality.

I would ask: can you define your reality? If so, how well?

If a person can, in fact, “define” their reality lucidly, then I would wonder at their sanity.

I certainly can’t handle remembering too much in my life, much less being too aware of the present moment.

My husband, however, contends otherwise of me. He says I am overly analytical, thus wrecking my enjoyment of the moment, if not the whole event.

How can two such disparate opinions of perceived reality exist?

It can because reality is perceived, not defined.

And any attempts to define reality takes one down the slippery slope.

Leave a Reply

