artistic journey

Standard

 

I was my mother’s “practice” fifth grade student at our local art museum, the Figge.  She is studying to be a docent, and will soon have to deal with many groups of fifth grade students who will be gathered around very expensive and delicate art, all listening to her perspective of the art at the moment.  I admire her!

I loved going to the museum, especially for the Fourth Floor exhibit.  I took two pictures of the collection, which was the best of any artist who lives within 150 miles of Davenport, Iowa, where the Figge stands.

I loved the book, which anyone can actually turn.  It reminded me of how magical books can be, as the acrylic and textured book which is wholly abstract, bedazzled me.

The other picture, also seemed magical as wires strung from the hugely tall ceiling carried little leaves whose shadow reflected below.

Of course after the difficult work of imbibing art, we imbibed an excellent lunch at the Figge cafe.

If you’re ever in the Quad Cities, I would highly recommend the Figge as a stop.  It overlooks the mighty Mississippi, which runs through our five towns–Rock Island, where I grew up, Moline, East Moline, Davenport, and Bettendorf.

Leave a Reply

